Formula E 2016-2017 Championship.


Danie Abt -Testing-at-Donington-Park - Image Credit FIA Formula E Championship copyThe Formula E Championship is contested by ten teams with two drivers each.

The Formula E  2016–17 FIA season will be the third of the FIA Formula E championship. It started on October 2016 in Hong Kong. Sebastien Buemi is the defending Drivers Champion and Renault e-dams is the defending Team Champion.

In the Formula E Championship, racing generally takes place on temporary city street-circuits. They are 2.0 to 3.4 km long. Currently, only the Mexico City ePrix takes place on a road course. It’s a modified version of the Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez. All events begin with two practice sessions in the morning. An opening 45-minute session is followed by a further 30-minute session. Drivers have two cars at their disposal with 200 kW available throughout.

The qualifying session takes place at noon and lasts one hour.

Drivers are divided into four groups of five. Each group have six minutes to set their best lap. Full power of 200 kW is available throughout with drivers. They are only able to use one car. Since the second season, the five fastest drivers go out again. The run a one-by-one, Super Pole shootout to determine the top five grid positions.

The race lasts about 50 minutes with drivers making one mandatory pit-stop to change cars. Tire changes — unless caused by a puncture or damage — are not permitted during this pit-stop. In race mode, the maximum power is restricted to 170 kW. Points are awarded using the standard FIA system

For each race, fans can vote for their favourite driver. That, through various social media channels. It’s to give them a little extra power boost. Voting starts about two weeks prior to an event and is also open during the opening six minutes of the race. The three winning Fanboost drivers receive an extra 100 kJ of energy. This one must be used in a power window between 180 kW and 200 kW.

Points are awarded to the top ten drivers using the standard FIA system.

Three points are also awarded to the driver securing the pole position. The driver setting the fastest lap receives an additional two points.The season consists of a Drivers and Teams Championship. A driver’s end of season total is made up according to driver’s best results. A team’s total is made up by counting both drivers’ scores throughout the season. The calendar consists of eleven races held in 10 different host cities: Beijing, Putrajaya, Punta del Este, Buenos Aires, Long Beach, Miami, Monte Carlo, Berlin, Moscow and London. There, are run last two rounds of the Championship took place.

The first Formula E race at the Beijing Olympic Green Circuit on September 13th, 2014 was won by Lucas Di Grassi. He arrived in this position, after Nick Heidfeld and Nicolas Prost crashed out on the final corner. In the course of the season, there were seven different race winners: Sébastien Buemi, Sam Bird, Nelson Piquet Jr., António Félix da Costa, Nicolas Prost, Jérôme d’Ambrosio and Lucas Di Grassi. The championship was decided with the last race in London, where Nelson Piquet Jr. became the first Formula E Champion, only a single point ahead of Sébastien Buemi. Piquet, Buemi and Di Grassi all had a theoretical chance at winning the title in the final round. The team championship was decided on the last race. The e-dams Renault obtained 232 points — winning ahead of Dragon Racing with 171 points — who surpassed ABT in the final round of the Championship.

Information and Images are shared from articles published by eFormula Championship, FIA. 



1 Comment

Leave A Reply